If you are curious about whether lobster is halal or haram, keep reading because we will answer it here!
Is Lobster Halal or Haram?
Lobster is Halal.
Lobster is categorized as halal because it is not directly mentioned as not allowed in the Al-Quran. Islamic scholars consider every type of shellfish (crab, lobster, prawns, oysters, and prawns) as halal and can be declared as food.
Three of the four schools of thought in Sunni Islam (Maliki, Shafi’i, Hanbali) state that all harmless shellfish are lawful to eat. Only the Hanafi school considers shells to be Makruh (detestable).
- A fatwa from Darul Uloom confirmed this.
Is It Safe For Muslims To Eat?
It is safe to consume lobster as it is a type of crustacean that is halal to eat, especially since it is rich in protein, omega-3 fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals that can help reduce the risk of heart disease and cancer.
But we still need to make sure that the lobster we are going to eat is killed without torture. The lobster preparation process is critical because its halal status depends on that.
It should be noted that there are differences of opinion among scholars regarding the consumption of lobster or other seafood besides fish, so do not criticize others who have different views about halal seafood.
Got a question? Feel free to ask on our forums and get quick answers.