Is Prawn Halal? Can Muslims Eat It? 2024

Prawn Halal or Haram

Prawn is a sort of fish that’s consumed by individuals all around the world. In any case, for Muslims, there’s an ongoing whether prawn is halal or haram.

This article examines the various rulings of Islamic scholars with respect to the utilization of prawns.

Are Prawns Halal or Haram?

Prawns are Partially Halal.

The issue of whether prawn is halal or haram is still debatable among all scholars. A few consider it halal, whereas others consider it haram. In this manner, it may be a matter of individual choice for Muslims.

Muslims who select to consume prawn should guarantee that it is prepared in accordance with Islamic dietary laws, which include that it is properly cooked and not contaminated with any non-halal substances.


Islamic researchers have distinctive opinions on the halal status of prawns. A few scholars consider prawns as haram, whereas others see it as halal. Following are some points of arguments;

  • Imam Abu Hanifah and Imam Malik considered prawn as haram since they accepted it to be a sort of ocean animal that’s not fish. They depended on the hadith that noticed the Prophet (PBUH) said: “Two types of dead animals and two types of blood have been made halal for us; the two dead animals are fish and locust, and the two types of blood are liver and spleen.” (Mishkat al-Masabih 4132 In-book reference: Book 20, Hadith 67).
  • Imam Shafiyi and Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal considered prawn as halal food on the claim that it resembles fish.
  • Prawns have also been declared halal by Contemporary Islamic scholars such as Yusuf al-Qaradawi and Mufti Muhammad Taqi Usmani.

Is It Safe For Muslim to Eat It?

Additionally, it is important to seek knowledge and advice from a qualified Islamic scholar before consuming foods with questionable Halal certification. This helps Muslims make informed choices and ensure compliance with Islamic dietary laws.

Bottom Line

In summary, there is no clear consensus among Islamic scholars about the halal nature of shrimp. Some consider it haram, others think it halal. Therefore,  whether to eat shrimp or not is left to individual interpretation.

It is critical to note that the Islamic diet emphasizes the importance of consuming pure and wholesome food. Muslims also ensure that the food they eat is prepared according to Islamic guidelines. , you need to ensure it is cooked.

It is important to note that the major concern for Muslims when it comes to food items is to guarantee that it is halal and obtained through halal means. Muslims should only consume what is halal and avoid those things that are haram. And Allah knows best.

Got a question? Feel free to ask mufti and get quick answers.


join whatsapp channel

Pin it
Notify of

1 Comment
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Previous Article
makkah city with clock tower

Saudi Arabia Bans Residents Without Hajj Permits from Entering Makkah

Next Article
Muslim French Footballers Refuse To Play In Rainbow Colored Shirts

5 Muslim French Footballers Refuse To Play In Rainbow-Colored Shirts

Related Posts