6 Pillars of Riaz ul Jannah (with Meaning)

In the heart of the Prophet’s mosque, there is a most sacred place. These are the pillars, each of which holds a unique story of the Prophet’s times.
Pillars of Riaz ul Jannah

The pillars of Riyaz ul Jannah are made of palm trees.

The Al-Rawdah Al-Sharifah is located in the Prophet’s Mosque. This sacred place is guarded by six pillars. Each pillar is a chapter from the Prophet Muhammad PBUH’s life, a story etched in time.

1. The Perfumed Pillar (Ustuwanah al-Mukhallaqah)

Also known as:

  • Weeping Pillar (Ustuwanah al-Hannana)
Weeping Pillar Ustuwanah al HannanaPerfumed Pillar Ustuwanah al Mukhallaqah

The Perfumed Pillar is also known as the Weeping Pillar. It was once supported by the Prophet during his sermons. It was replaced by a pulpit. It is said the palm trunk longed for the Prophet’s presence.

2. The Pillar of Aisha (Ustuwanat Aisha)

Also known as:

  • Pillar of Casting Lots (Ustuwanah al-Qur’ah)
  • Pillar of the Emigrants (Ustuwanah al-Muhajireen)
The Pillar of Aisha Ustuwanat Aisha

This pillar bears the name of the Prophet’s beloved wife. It marks a spot blessed for prayer. It is also known as the Pillar of the Emigrants.

3. Pillar of the Guard (Ustuwanah al-Haras)

Also known as:

  • Pillar of Ali ibn Abi Talib (Ustuwanah Ali ibn Ali Talib)
Pillar of the Guard Ustuwanah al Haras

It stands where Ali ibn Abi Talib sat. He would guard the Holy Prophet from this point. It is a symbol of devotion and protection. It is known by the name Ustuwanah Ali ibn Ali Talib.

4. The Pillar of Repentance (Ustuwanah al-Tawbah)

Also known as:

  • Pillar of Abu Lubabah (Ustuwana Abu Lubabah)
Pillar of Repentance Ustuwanah al Tawbah

It is also called the Abu Lubabah’s Pillar. It is where a companion of the Prophet sought forgiveness as he sinned. It represents hope and mercy.

5. The Pillar of Delegations

Pillar of Delegations Ustuwanah al Wufud

It is where the Prophet welcomed tribes. It is a testament to his role as a leader and a diplomat. This pillar is the same spot where our beloved Prophet received delegations.

6. The Pillar of the Bed (Ustuwanah al-Sarir)

The Pillar of the Bed Ustuwanah al Sarir

This pillar indicates the spot where the Prophet sought solitude during Ramadan. It symbolizes dedication and spiritual reflection.

It is known as the pillar of bed because a bed of palm branches was placed. This bed was used by the Holy Prophet during the last 10 days of Ramadan. That was the time when he observed Itikaf.

These pillars have withstood the test of time. Despite renovations, they remain unaltered. They are clad in white marble since 1404 AH. They are not just structures but beacons of faith.

In essence, the six pillars of Riyaz ul-Jannah are more than mere relics. They connect the past to the present. They stand as silent witnesses to the Prophet’s enduring legacy. These pillars are inspiring Muslims around the world.

join whatsapp channel

Pin it
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Previous Article
Ismail Abu Al Saba cover

Ismail Abu Al-Saba: Served Free Tea and Coffee to Pilgrims For 50 Years Dies at 96

Next Article
New Camera Installed at Rawdah

A New Camera Installed at Rawdah in the Prophet's Mosque

Related Posts