It can be said that almost all generations, from children, and teenagers to adults, enjoy the unique taste served in every bite of Cheetos, an air-filled snack made from crunchy corn flour with a distinctive aroma.
Table of Contents
One way to enjoy it is by licking Cheetle (red Cheetos spice powder) on our fingers. Many consumers of this popular snack are wondering about its halal status.
Below is an explanation of the halal status of the popular Cheetos snack that can be easily found or sold all over the world.
Is Cheetos Halal or Haram?
Cheetos is Partially Halal.
All Cheetos variants that are produced and marketed in Muslim-majority countries such as Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, and Pakistan can be confirmed as halal and have also obtained halal certification from a halal certification body approved by the local government.
However, this is different from the Cheetos variant which is available in non-Muslim majority countries such as the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.
Almost all variations of Cheetos available in these non-Muslim majority countries certainly do not have Halal certificates because they are made from non-Halal ingredients for consumption by Muslim customers, such as “cheese” and “whey” which are usually made from animal enzymes which are usually not slaughtered.
- Official website and Email by PepsiCo.
Is It Safe For Muslims To Eat?
It is safe for Muslim consumers to buy and consume Cheetos snack variants that are produced and marketed in Muslim countries. However, it is not safe to buy the Cheetos variant sold in countries where Muslims are the minority because it contains animal ingredients that are not halal for Muslims.
Be careful when buying any packaged snacks that are produced and marketed in countries where Muslims are a minority. Always check the halal label on the package or you can also buy snacks that are labeled Kosher, due to the strict Jewish dietary laws that are also safe for Muslims.