Is Octopus Halal? Is Eating It Halal Or Haram?

octopus halal dish

Octopus is a popular seafood choice because it is considered one of the world’s most delicious and nutritious types of seafood; however, problems arise when some people want to eat octopus as they are not sure whether it is halal or not.

The answer to this question is that octopus is categorized as halal seafood, and Muslims can eat it.

In the view of most scholars of Sunni Islam (Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hambali), all seafood, in principle, is halal with only minor restrictions.

The opinion of Islamic scholars is based on the verse of the Holy Quran contained in Surah Al-Maidah verse 96, which reads: “Lawful to you is what you catch from the sea and (use) it for food as provisions for yourselves and travelers.”

Therefore, everything that comes from the sea that is not tormented or harmful (harmful), including scaly fish, has been made lawful by Allah.

Because the octopus is not one of the exceptions mentioned in the Quran or as long as the octopus we eat is not tortured or dangerous. According to Shafi’i, Maliki, and Hambali, it is considered halal seafood and can be eaten with no requirement of slaughtering.

Octopus in the sea
Photo: Pia

Another reason that underlies the opinion of most Islamic scholars to categorize octopus as halal food is based on verse 14 of Surah An-Nahl, which states: “it is He Who has made the sea subject, that you may eat thereof flesh that is fresh and tender.”

Based on this verse, it can be concluded that Allah has given permission for all sea animals without exception and without conditions for slaughter to be eaten by His servants. Apart from making it easier for us in this way, He gives humans the authority to use anything to trap them as long as it doesn’t cause the animals pain.

Although, in general, all animals and plants from the sea are halal for consumption by Muslims, according to some scholars, there are general exceptions to seafood that is forbidden to eat; the first one is poisonous marine animals such as puffer fish. This is based on Surah An-Nisa verse 29, which reads: “And do not kill yourself (or one another). Verily, Allah is to you ever Merciful.”

The second exception is allergies, where a Muslim who has an allergy to particular sea creatures is prohibited from eating seafood or these plants that can harm him in any way. But, again, the proof is the Quran Surah Al – Baqarah verse 195, where Allah forbids us to be the cause of our own destruction.

Meanwhile, only Hanafi scholars categorize octopus as makruh. According to the Hanafi school of jurisprudence, sea creatures that are allowed to be consumed only Samak, which comes from an Arabic term translated as fish. Therefore, due to uncertainty in the categorization of octopus makes it makruh.

From the explanation above, it can be concluded that according to Syafi’i, Maliki, and Hambali, octopus is categorized as halal for food consumption. And only the Hanafi scholars consider it makruh. Therefore, although octopus is allowed to be eaten in Islam, those of you who want to eat octopus must pay attention to its processing which should not be tortured or hurt intentionally.

Got a question? Feel free to ask on our forums and get quick answers.

Total
12
Shares
Share
Tweet
Pin it
Share
Share
Share
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

1 Comment
Most Voted
Newest Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Previous Article
seikh sudais warn non muslims violating rules

Will Take Action Against Any Non-Muslim Violating Holy Mosques Rules, Sheikh Sudais

Next Article
Dialysis center Masjid e mohammadika hyderabad

Free Dialysis Center Set Up In A Hyderabad Mosque In India

Related Posts
Total
12
Share