It has been confirmed by the scholar of most influential Islamic seminars in the UK that the new Pfizer BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine is halal because the government has confirmed that it does not have any components of animal origin.
Some Deobandi scholars signed the fatwa. Yusuf Shabbir and Mufti Shabbir Ahmad of Daryl Uloom Blackburn, Mufti Muhammad Tahir of Daryl Uloom Bury, and NHS consultant Mawlama Kallingal Riyad.
They stated that we asked the Pfizer company and asked them to share the breakdown of their ingredients, which they shared with us. The ingredient which caused a little bit of confusion was cholesterol because it can be obtained from animal fat, but it is usually obtained from a hen’s eggs. The ingredients are also available on this link.
As the government’s statement mentioned above, it is halal that it does not contain any animal fat. All lipid excipients used in the covid vaccine mRNA Vaccine BNT162b2 are made from plant-derived sources, or they are synthetic, so it is confirmed that this vaccine does not has any animal components in it. As mentioned in an email, they sent to us.
It must be noted that This answer is only for the Pfizer BioNTech Covid 19 vaccine and is based on its ingredients. So this answer is not for the upcoming vaccines.
The decision to use the vaccine is a personal decision for every individual to make. Please note that The answer to the ingredients is regarding Islamic permissibility. It is recommended that the person read the patient’s leaflet to know its risks and benefits, and they should consult a medical professional to gain more information.
Initially, more than 40 hospitals have been selected to serve as hubs for administering the vaccine.
Did you know? Pfizer Vaccine is created by a Muslim Scientist Couple
Get Islamic News and Articles in your Inbox.